Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Feb 19, 2013 7:41:32 GMT -8
Hey, On my v4 site that I am getting ready for the upgrade by making sure everything I need words on the tester before I officially upgrade the v4 site, I have a code that adds an admin-only-editable sort of "second signature" to all member profiles, in which are viewable by staff and members. I use it to show the member's wand image and details (it's a HP RPG site). I need this feature for the upgrade as well, however I cannot find a way to show it in the profile with the text and the image. The v4 code doesn't work and makes the forums look a bit weird, so I'll be removing it before I upgrade to prevent that issue. Though it still leaves me with the problem of how to show a member's wand and details in v5. So I was wondering if there is a code I could use to add that section, or something similar, to v5 as well? Any help or suggestions would be greatly apreciated!
v4 of the site
Beta Tester of the site
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Feb 20, 2013 18:50:55 GMT -8
Bump
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Feb 22, 2013 1:05:40 GMT -8
Bump.
Anyone?
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Feb 23, 2013 17:00:18 GMT -8
Bump
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Feb 25, 2013 0:55:49 GMT -8
Bump
|
|
inherit
The Dream Crusher (Ret.)
164921
0
Apr 1, 2014 11:00:25 GMT -8
Tim Camara
Teach a man to fish, etc., etc.
1,721
March 2011
tcamara
|
Post by Tim Camara on Feb 26, 2013 9:26:10 GMT -8
You should be able to accomplish this with custom profile fields (Admin Area > Members > Custom Profile Fields). You can add a text field (even restricted to valid URLs) and make the field restricted to staff members with the appropriate power. If you have a URL entered in the field, you can modify your post template to something like this:
{foreach $[current_user.custom_field]} {if $[current_user.custom_field.name] == 'wand_image'}<img src="$[current_user.custom_field.value]" />{/if} {/foreach}
(That code's a little bit simplified, but you should get the idea)
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Feb 26, 2013 20:23:54 GMT -8
Thank you so much for the help! However, though I'm a fast learner I still do not entirely understand how to utilize this code for each wand image. The usage of the member custom profile fields is what I was hoping for, and I know how to use them so that part won't be a problem. Could you please explain the bits of the code and which parts I edit. I'm a bit confused where I put the code, and how it works. Again, thank you for the assistance and though I'm a bit unsure of how it works, it looks like something that will work very nicely with what I intended
|
|
inherit
The Dream Crusher (Ret.)
164921
0
Apr 1, 2014 11:00:25 GMT -8
Tim Camara
Teach a man to fish, etc., etc.
1,721
March 2011
tcamara
|
Post by Tim Camara on Feb 27, 2013 9:05:33 GMT -8
Pretty much just make sure you name your field wand_image (to match the code above, or if you change it, make sure to modify it in your code), then paste that code chunk where you want the image to be. For example, if you want it in the signature, open up your Post List template (Admin Area > Themes > Layout Templates > Thread > Post List), and find the following lines: (should be about line 35)
{if $[post.created_by_user.signature]} <div class="signature">$[post.created_by_user.signature]</div> {/if}
and add in the lines I posted like so:
{if $[post.created_by_user.signature]} <div class="signature">$[post.created_by_user.signature]</div> {/if}
{foreach $[current_user.custom_field]} {if $[current_user.custom_field.name] == 'wand_image'}<img src="$[current_user.custom_field.value]" />{/if} {/foreach}
This will place the wand image right below each user's signature line. After that, all you have to do is add the wand image url to each user's profile field.
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Mar 12, 2013 6:38:59 GMT -8
Thank you so much for the help, however it doesn't work. As in, it behaves as though the code isn't there so I only see the url to the image, in the profile, and nothing else. All remains the same. I double-checked I did it right...
|
|
inherit
The Dream Crusher (Ret.)
164921
0
Apr 1, 2014 11:00:25 GMT -8
Tim Camara
Teach a man to fish, etc., etc.
1,721
March 2011
tcamara
|
Post by Tim Camara on Mar 12, 2013 7:32:05 GMT -8
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Mar 12, 2013 22:07:15 GMT -8
That's from the code already in place from v4, but it shows in the signature yet in a way members can edit it. The point of it is for it not to be editable. The old code doesn't work because it removes the admin editable bit and just places the info into the sig during the conversion. I am getting the site ready for re-opening, so I'm using the actual site now instead of just the tester: haurpg.proboards.comThe § symbol isn't supposed to appear and it's a sign the old code isn't working as it is supposed to, which is why I need an alternative. I have removed the code from the actual site, even if the info still shows in the signature - but, again, members can edit that.
|
|
inherit
The Dream Crusher (Ret.)
164921
0
Apr 1, 2014 11:00:25 GMT -8
Tim Camara
Teach a man to fish, etc., etc.
1,721
March 2011
tcamara
|
Post by Tim Camara on Mar 13, 2013 7:59:50 GMT -8
Woops, I made a mistake. It should have been $[post.created_by_user], not $[current_user]. I changed it in your template for you.
{foreach $[post.created_by_user.custom_field]} {if $[post.created_by_user.custom_field.name] == 'wand_image'}<img src="$[post.created_by_user.custom_field.value]" />{/if} {/foreach}
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Mar 14, 2013 8:33:20 GMT -8
Thanks! However, still, it does not appear to be working...
|
|
inherit
The Dream Crusher (Ret.)
164921
0
Apr 1, 2014 11:00:25 GMT -8
Tim Camara
Teach a man to fish, etc., etc.
1,721
March 2011
tcamara
|
Post by Tim Camara on Mar 14, 2013 10:38:50 GMT -8
Copy my last post.
|
|
Water Crystals
Junior Member
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
Posts: 431
inherit
137395
0
Nov 19, 2024 1:35:44 GMT -8
Water Crystals
Those who make no mistakes, don't make anything
431
February 2009
watercrystals
|
Post by Water Crystals on Mar 15, 2013 5:08:53 GMT -8
I did. The code does not appear to be working.
|
|