ffs
Junior Member
France-based member
Posts: 307
inherit
264704
0
Jun 12, 2022 11:13:10 GMT -8
ffs
France-based member
307
July 2021
frenchforumsurvivor
|
Post by ffs on Oct 7, 2021 12:48:03 GMT -8
Using the Drop Down Nav plugin I've added to the Profile tab options for different parts of the Profile, eg Notifications, Groups etc, but I also added an arrow (▿) to the word 'Profile' to show there is a dropdown. By changing the 'name' of the tab in adding the arrow, I no longer get the notification bubble, is there somewhere I can change this so that I get notifications, despite the relevant tab being now 'Provile ▿'?
Apparently the PB script won't recognise the new variable, so is at a matter of changing the script?
|
|
inherit
Official Code Helper
65613
0
1
Oct 22, 2024 1:56:19 GMT -8
Chris
"'Oops' is the sound we make when we improve"
9,018
December 2005
horace
RedBassett's Mini-Profile
|
Post by Chris on Oct 7, 2021 18:17:21 GMT -8
If you have a button with the same name then instead of adding a new button, it will add to the existing(this way if you were to user it for 'Profile' or 'Messages' you could still get the notifications bubble). Given the above quote from the author of the plugin it sounds like you are creating a totally new button by not matching the text of the original button thus losing the bubbles (" Profile" is not equal to " Profile ▿"). The notification bubble is not created when it reaches the browser but is rather included in the HTML sent from the Proboards servers so you should technically be seeing two profile buttons one with bubbles and one created by JavaScript within the browser unless you've hidden/removed the original button (I cannot of course see this to confirm). A possible workaround would be to revert the plugin button text back to the original button names so they use the original buttons (and their associated bubbles) as a shell for creating the button then use CSS content generation to add the desired arrows .dropDown > a[href*="/user/"]:after,.dropDown > a[href$="/members"]:after,.dropDown > a[href$="/admin"]:after,.dropDown > a[href$="/conversations"]:after { content: '\25bf'; }
..or more succinctly .. .dropDown > a:is([href*="/user/"],[href$="/members"],[href$="/admin"],[href$="/conversations"]):after { content: '\25bf'; } Too bad it is not IE-friendly
|
|
ffs
Junior Member
France-based member
Posts: 307
inherit
264704
0
Jun 12, 2022 11:13:10 GMT -8
ffs
France-based member
307
July 2021
frenchforumsurvivor
|
Post by ffs on Oct 8, 2021 7:42:20 GMT -8
If you have a button with the same name then instead of adding a new button, it will add to the existing(this way if you were to user it for 'Profile' or 'Messages' you could still get the notifications bubble). Given the above quote from the author of the plugin it sounds like you are creating a totally new button by not matching the text of the original button thus losing the bubbles (" Profile" is not equal to " Profile ▿"). The notification bubble is not created when it reaches the browser but is rather included in the HTML sent from the Proboards servers so you should technically be seeing two profile buttons one with bubbles and one created by JavaScript within the browser unless you've hidden/removed the original button (I cannot of course see this to confirm). A possible workaround would be to revert the plugin button text back to the original button names so they use the original buttons (and their associated bubbles) as a shell for creating the button then use CSS content generation to add the desired arrows .dropDown > a[href*="/user/"]:after,.dropDown > a[href$="/members"]:after,.dropDown > a[href$="/admin"]:after,.dropDown > a[href$="/conversations"]:after { content: '\25bf'; }
Thanks, Chris, your first paragraph describes exactly the current situation, both if I leave the original button in place (two buttons, one with bubbles but no arrow or drop down, the other with arrow and drop down but no bubbles) and if I disable it in the Navigation options (arrow and drop down but no bubbles).
For the workaround suggested, a) where would I place that additional CSS, b) is the class .dropDown an existing class that you are aware of for the plugin, and c) is '\25bf' the value for the arrow?
|
|
inherit
Official Code Helper
65613
0
1
Oct 22, 2024 1:56:19 GMT -8
Chris
"'Oops' is the sound we make when we improve"
9,018
December 2005
horace
RedBassett's Mini-Profile
|
Post by Chris on Oct 8, 2021 11:22:43 GMT -8
where would I place that additional CSS That would depend on whether you want to customize it on a - per theme basis ([Stylesheet tab] of [Advanced Styles and CSS], e.g. also adjust color, font-size, etc. of arrow)
- or have it present across all installed themes ([Global Header] wrapped in <style></style> tags)
- or only on home page ([Main Header] wrapped in <style></style> tags)
- or only when in certain boards ([Board Header] wrapped in <style></style> tags)
- or only when viewing certain categories ([Category Header] wrapped in <style></style> tags)
... read more. Ideally, if the plugin is editable you could also use the various CSS and header components within the plugin itself to accomplish the same thing but I am not familiar enough with the plugin to know if it was left in editable mode. is the class .dropDown an existing class that you are aware of for the plugin The .dropDown class is added by the plugin to a div surrounding a button it has created so would only be present if the plugin was installed, enabled and actually created a button. You can easily right click any dropdown button you have and choose inspect to see the HTML structure and classes at play. is '\25bf' the value for the arrow? Yes, '25bf' is the hexadecimal/base16 representation of the decimal/base10 number 9663. HTML entities (▿ or &x25bf;) are not allowed in style sheets or within <style> tags (although they can still be used within inline style attributes) so it is wise to escape non-ascii chars as shown since they may not be preserved if saved to encodings other than utf-8 such as in windows 1252 codepage. Nothing to see here Where are you going? TURN BACK!!! History[edit]ISO 8859-1 was based on the Multinational Character Set (MCS) used by Digital Equipment Corporation (DEC) in the popular VT220 terminal in 1983. It was developed within the European Computer Manufacturers Association (ECMA), and published in March 1985 as ECMA-94,[14] by which name it is still sometimes known. The second edition of ECMA-94 (June 1986)[15] also included ISO 8859-2, ISO 8859-3, and ISO 8859-4 as part of the specification. The original draft of ISO 8859-1 placed French Œ and œ at code points 215 (0xD7) and 247 (0xF7), as in the MCS. However, the delegate from France, being neither a linguist nor a typographer, falsely stated that these are not independent French letters on their own, but mere ligatures (like fi or fl), supported by the delegate team from Bull Publishing Company, who regularly did not print French with Œ/œ in their house style at the time. An anglophone delegate from Canada insisted on retaining Œ/œ but was rebuffed by the French delegate and the team from Bull. These code points were soon filled with × and ÷ under the suggestion of the German delegation. Support for French was further reduced when it was again falsely stated that the letter ÿ is "not French", resulting in the absence of the capital Ÿ. In fact, the letter ÿ is found in a number of French proper names, and the capital letter has been used in dictionaries and encyclopedias.[16] These characters were added to ISO/IEC 8859-15:1999. BraSCII matches the original draft. In 1985, Commodore adopted ECMA-94 for its new AmigaOS operating system.[17] The Seikosha MP-1300AI impact dot-matrix printer, used with the Amiga 1000, included this encoding.[citation needed] In 1990, the very first version of Unicode used the code points of ISO-8859-1 as the first 256 Unicode code points. In 1992, the IANA registered the character map ISO_8859-1:1987, more commonly known by its preferred MIME name of ISO-8859-1 (note the extra hyphen over ISO 8859-1), a superset of ISO 8859-1, for use on the Internet. This map assigns the C0 and C1 control codes to the unassigned code values thus provides for 256 characters via every possible 8-bit value.
|
|
ffs
Junior Member
France-based member
Posts: 307
inherit
264704
0
Jun 12, 2022 11:13:10 GMT -8
ffs
France-based member
307
July 2021
frenchforumsurvivor
|
Post by ffs on Oct 9, 2021 8:36:14 GMT -8
Chris, the CSS workaround works! Thank you. I originally thought it didn't, then realised the Profile button was still turned off in the Navigation menu.
By the way, where does the Spoiler plugin (if it's a plugin) come from?
|
|
inherit
Official Code Helper
65613
0
1
Oct 22, 2024 1:56:19 GMT -8
Chris
"'Oops' is the sound we make when we improve"
9,018
December 2005
horace
RedBassett's Mini-Profile
|
Post by Chris on Oct 9, 2021 18:25:08 GMT -8
Glad it worked!
Spoiler is a native Proboards BBCode, just type [spoiler] CONTENT_TO_HIDE [/spoiler] to use it (Note: it does not render in preview)
|
|
ffs
Junior Member
France-based member
Posts: 307
inherit
264704
0
Jun 12, 2022 11:13:10 GMT -8
ffs
France-based member
307
July 2021
frenchforumsurvivor
|
Post by ffs on Oct 10, 2021 1:30:01 GMT -8
Glad it worked! Spoiler is a native Proboards BBCode, just type [spoiler] CONTENT_TO_HIDE [/spoiler] to use it (Note: it does not render in preview) Your spoilers appear in a sexy format, mine just appear as a link. ETA: It's got the desired look on this forum.
|
|